This Week with Kiwanis

Kiwanis Club of Salisbury / Salisbury Kiwanis Charities
P.O. Box 182, Salisbury, NC  28145-0182


This  week we welcome Maria Lowder, Executive Director of North Hills Christian School. The school recently gained another 11 acres and she will discuss the plans to increase their footprint and the impact it will make for their students. 


Last  week we gathered offsite at Partners in Learning, where our own Amy Vestal presented an overview of the success and expansion of the programs that have truly impacted families in our community now that they have moved into the new facility located at 1775 S Martin Luther King Jr. Ave.





 After a nice bucket lunch, Norma Honeycutt, Executive Director, led us on a tour where we saw how much community support went into building the facilities including several Kiwanis sponsored rooms, Moose Pharmacy, F&M Bank, Alison and Mark Doby.  

Adventure Forest, an outside classroom is officially open May 6, 2024.  Volunteers are needed June 14th for their Family Popsicle Social to serve popsicles or cook hot dogs. If interested, please contact Norma Honeycutt at

Congratulations to Jim Duncan, Executive Director of Project Light in his write up in the Salisbury Post.

Congratulations to Janet Haynes and Melissa Yates in their write up in the Salisbury Post celebrating the successful “Pass The Plate” event as they raised over $130,000 for Rowan Helping Ministries.

The Club has delivered six seniors with $1,000 scholarships this week. 

This year the club will sponsor one youth to the Rowan Youth Leadership Program.


No Birthdays or Anniversaries last week 



5/17/24 Don’t forget to wear your college gear for College Day hosted by Jess Vess of Crosby Scholars
5/24/24 No Meeting for Memorial Day Weekend
6/15/24 Saturday Summer Picnic: No Meeting Friday 6/14 
We still need volunteers for the Little League Concession Stand on May 10 and May 16. The shifts are 5:30-7:30. Please sign up on Club Runner or contact Ann Eidson.  



Club Officers

President Janet Haynes
President-Elect Erik Lipscomb
Vice-President Melissa Yates
Recording Secretary     Charisse Peeler
Membership Secretary       Tom McElveen
Treasurer  Rick Eldridge
Past PresidentNan Zimmerman
Club Directors
Ann Eidson  2025
David Foote  2025
Daren Fuller  2024
Cory Kluttz  2024
Richard Miller  2025
Jessica Vess  2024
Newsletter Editor
Walter Wall